SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master (SASM)

Advancing Scrum Master Servant Leadership with SAFe®

This class teaches the material necessary to earn the SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) certification.

Topics Covered:

  • SAFe® framework, values, and Lean-Agile principles
  • Agile and Scrum anti-patterns
  • Program increment planning, execution, and Inspect and Adapt workshops
  • Quality engineering, Agile architecture, and DevOps practices
  • Kanban for facilitating team and program flow of work
  • Building high-performing teams
  • Interaction with the system team, deployment, UX, architects, product owners, product management, and business owners
  • Learning and Communities of Practice

Course Goals:  Empower SASMs to:

  • Apply SAFe® principles to facilitation, enablement, and coaching in the multi-team environment
  • Build a high-performing team and foster relentless improvement at the team and program levels
  • Address Agile and Scrum anti-patterns
  • Support the adoption of engineering practices, DevOps, and Agile architecture
  • Apply Kanban and flow to optimize the team’s work
  • Facilitate program planning, execution, and delivery of end-to-end systems value
  • Support learning through participation in Communities of Practice and innovation cycles

Duration:  This is a two-day class held from 9 AM to 5 PM.  Included in the cost are a light breakfast served at 0830 and Lunch at mid-day.

Included with the Course:

  • Two-day SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master in-person course and workbook
  • Exam fee for one attempt towards the SASM certification
  • One year membership as a certified SASM upon course completion and a passing grade on the exam
  • Breakfast and lunch

Class Prerequisites:

Ii is strongly suggested that attendees be certified in one of the following certifications: SAFe® Scrum Master (SSM), Certified ScrumMaster (CSM), or Professional Scrum Master (PSM).

Prerequisites for SASM Certification:

  • Complete the two-day SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master in-person course from an certified SAFe® Program Consultant (SPC) or SAFe® Program Consultant Trainer (SPCT)
  • Pass the SASM exam

Exam Details:

  • The exam is administered online (web based, single browser), closed book, no outside assistance, and timed at 120 minutes (2 hours).
  • It is a multiple choice exam.
  • Candidates have 30 days to take the exam after course completion.  An exam fee of $50 will be charged by Scaled Agile Inc., if the exam is taken after the 30-day window.
  • Candidates access the exam via the SAFe® Community Platform upon course completion.
  • Exam retakes will be subject to a $50 fee by Scaled Agile Inc.
  • The exam is administered in English.
  • The passing score is a 57 (70%).

Exam Study Materials:

Included with the Certification:

  • A SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master certificate
  • SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master (SASM) attendance certificate upon request
  • A SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master branding kit with the SASM certification mark
  • SAFe® Advanced Scrum Master digital badge to promote your accomplishment online
  • A one-year certified membership as a SAFe Advanced Scrum Master

Certification Renewal:  Membership renewals are one year from the date the certification is earned, cost $195 and require 10 continuing education/outreach hours.